Anti-Bonehead Artillery

CV1_TNY_06_22_09.inddIt was just a bit of luck that led me to pick up the home copy of the June 22 New Yorker (available to subscribers online, and at the now higher than ever ML, of course) for something to read while downing the post-work gin, where I found “Don’t Shoot,”  a John Seabrook piece about successful efforts to de-escalate young male drug warfare, most of which is about the implementation of Operation Ceasefire in Cincinnati (click here to read an abstract of the article).  It’s an eye-opener, something every Cincinnati blog reader, writer, and or/commenter needs to have read to counter the endless gushing of nonsense from the thousands of embittered Cunningham COASTers who live to spout invective about the city’s crime rate, the quality of life in Over The Rhine, and whatever barely veiled racist delusion disturbs their dreams.  It’s truly not to be missed.

What particularly concerns me, though, is how the article eluded the local news scene.  Here is significant news in depth about what appears to be a genuinely successful change of culture in the Cincinnati Police Department, change that includes Chief Streicher, and it might as well have run in the Minsk Tribune.  Obviously the incredible shrinking daily isn’t going to puff a piece by another publication, but that should not have been a problem with local bloggers.  Have we stopped reading anything that isn’t on a screen?  Cripes, I hope not.

Read the piece.  Comment.  Go do battle.

-Nemo Wolfe

Published in: on July 7, 2009 at 11:39 am  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cincinnatimercantile.wordpress.com/2009/07/07/anti-bonehead-artillery/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m on it.

  2. Is this the same program that I and the UC News Record wrote about in Jan 2008?

    And to answer your question, yes I have stopped reading anything that does not appear on a screen, almost.

  3. I used to subscribe to the New Yorker but I had to cut down and I chose Harper’s over old Eustace Tilley. May I assume that the venerable folks housing the 12th floor can hook a brutha up?

  4. Read the piece in the air conditioned comfort of our convenient 12th floor branch.

  5. Back when I read The New Yorker a lot, I realized that the MSM tended to pick up a lot of their stories over a period of 6-12 months. By the time the Enquirer picks up on it – it might only be online.
    FWIW, I used to leave my old NYers at my laundromat at 666 W McMicken. Other patrons left their stuff, too. The manager stocked it with Plain Truth. It was a pretty eclectic mix of reading material.
    Has the Mercantile considered a laundromat reading room ?

  6. Sudsy Malone’s for the literary set? Sounds good to me.


Leave a comment