“Here is a powerful argument for writers’ burning their papers…”

So, why am I posting a link to Garrison Keillor’s review of Mark Twain’s recently released autobiography?  Is it because it’s a particularly great review?  No.  Am I such a huge Garrison Keillor and/or Mark Twain fan?  Not that either.

It’s so I have a thin excuse to post a link to my all-time favorite book review ever,of course.

-Norm De Plume

Published in: on December 21, 2010 at 1:28 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cincinnatimercantile.wordpress.com/2010/12/21/here-is-a-powerful-argument-for-writers%e2%80%99-burning-their-papers/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It was a great review made all the better by knowing it was penned by the third most pretentious man in North America.

  2. Agreed. I love that review, but whenever I hear that velvety voice coming from my radio speakers, I reach for the dial.

  3. I’m with y’all. Keillor could be reading the secrets of the Universe and I’d still reach for the dial.

  4. great!

    loved the quote “thanks pal…don’t let the door hit you on your way out….were there fat people involved….”

  5. I’m partial to “There’s no reason for [this book] to exist in English, except as evidence that travel need not be broadening” myself.

  6. […] at Stacked are huge fans of scathing reviews.  Furthermore, our editorial position has been one of extreme skepticism regarding the […]


Leave a Reply

