The cheap new Kindle

Amazon has introduced a Kindle so cheap even a librarian can afford one, provided said librarian can somehow convince his wife that inexpensive diapers work just as well as  premium ones. Said librarian may also have to make his leaky shoes last another month or two, and may even have to switch to Schlitz, but now that the preferred beer of said librarian’s college days is back to its original (and allegedly somewhat drinkable) formula and available in bottles, that last money saving provision may not be so bad.

-Norm De Plume

Published in: on July 29, 2010 at 9:48 am  Comments (48)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cincinnatimercantile.wordpress.com/2010/07/29/the-cheap-new-kindle/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

48 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Still can’t bring myself to read from a screen…I love the feel of a book in my hands…plus…the screens give me a headache! :-) But…I must say…very thorough examination “said librarian”.

    http://www.wutevs.wordpress.com

  2. I may have to break down and do it. I love the feel of paper in my hands but this would really lighten my load on the daily commute.

    Oh, Kindle, you evil temptress!!!!

    Thank you for the post!

  3. Oh, it’s okay. Technology develops, but you still have your favorites…and preferences.
    -Noor
    http://noor724.wordpress.com/
    :)

  4. People’s Choice. A real book is great and I love the smell of books. Gosh does the Kindle have a smell? I hope it’s not a new car smell, that gives me a headache. :/

  5. Hahaha funny. I need a book. Plus who is crazy enough to bring their Kindle onto the beach, what with wind blowing sand all over? I drop my books at least ten times each when I’m reading them…
    http://www.denwrites.com

  6. Raul, you can’t read from a screen huh? You prefer the smell of shreaded dead trees huh? Then how can you read on the computer screen? Or are you a digital spirit lol.

  7. When my birthdaytime rolls around, I’m going to tell my son and his wife to buy me one of these, but the more expensive model. I’m sure they can afford it with their salaries.

    The Codger
    http://thecodger.wordpress.com/

  8. Who takes a kindle to the beach, bring it to south beach and get it stolen.

    This device, is AWESOME, and as the price drops, everyone will evolutionize into them or the competitors versions, I have thousands of digital books waiting to be transferred from my netbook and read through a much more user friendly application, as this Kindle, kinder version of a laptop or new age modern cell phones smaller screen.

    So what”s the price check on this bad girl?

  9. Oh no! A Librarian with an E-Reader??!! My worst fears have come to fruition.

  10. Don’t be afraid, girlonthecontrary. A good librarian knows that a book is a book, whether it is printed on old timey paper or en-Kindle-ated for our convenience.

  11. A colleague has got one (not the latest obviously) and he loves it, and I have to say, you dont get any screen galre at all. It’s very well designed to avoid this and is as close to reading form paper as you’re likley to get, without actually picking up a book.

    I’ve gone for the ipad to satisfy my eReading habbits but you do get the expected screen glade with that.

    http://chrisv1977.wordpress.com/

  12. My boyfriend is all about getting an ebook. Although I do see some advantage to it (It’s hard to carry around as many books as I do on long trips) I love the feel of a real book.

  13. If they can make a Kindle feel and smell like a book, I’ll consider.

  14. I recently got a Kindle for my birthday and though I love it (the screen is no harder on the eyes than a regular book) I’m saddened that my book collection will no longer be displayed on a bookshelf, but rather, just a screen.

  15. Hahaha funny. I need a book. Plus who is crazy enough to bring their Kindle onto the beach, what with wind blowing sand all over? I drop my books at least ten times each when I’m reading them…

    All you have to do is put the Kindle in a zip-loc bag.

  16. They all say they love a real book and all of them go and buy a Kindle. That’s a conventional publisher talking.

  17. I personally love kindles. I mostly use the kindle app on my phone though. I think it is more convenient.

  18. I used my kindle at the pool, on the plane this summer. I “took” 6 or more books with me, but on my kindle; saved so much weight and bulk. Love the Kindle.

  19. In twenty years the experts will be tell us that all this digital reading is hurting our eyes and all these kindles will end up in a landfill. Just read Grapes of Wrath for the first time and couldn’t imagine reading it on a kindle. How can I pass on my book collection to my kids? Do I just give them Daddy’s kindle? When you buy a book on the kindle you don’t even really own it. So much time, money and energy wasted on another silly electronic device that tethers us to capitalist consumer society. I say go to your local used bookstore and buy a paperback for a few bucks. It will last longer than your kindle.

  20. I’m torn, I love the technology of it, but I love curling up with a book too. Can’t decide! Great article though.

  21. Many will rightfully say that there’s nothing in a plastic tablet that can compare to the feel of a paper book in your hands, and while I do agree I’ll also reply that the same holds true for a wooden boat. They’re far more elegant, ride smoother in the water, feel better beneath you, they are a true testimony to craftsmanship and beauty… but lovely as they are I still went with (old) fiberglass. And I’ll also note that I’m writing this on a little plastic laptop and I can all but guarantee every one of you is reading it on some type of computer that didn’t exist a few decades back. Yes, I could write on a typewriter, preferably a lovely old manual of the same vintage as my 1920 sewing machine, and the same words would exist for a reader to read. But how many of you out there are using typewriters on a daily basis for communication? I’m not saying there’s anything wrong with the old ways, but there comes a time to accept the new as well.

    Over recent years the publishing industry, as with much else in the economy, has cut jobs, tightened its belt and put its focus primarily on proven authors and blockbuster bestseller material. I do understand, there’s great time and expense involved in that printed book you see in the store, and everyone from start to finish expects to be paid. This is reflected in the price of new books, and that pricing limits those of us with a budget as to how many we can purchase. That same formula works against new, unproven authors looking to reach readers, while epublishing offers an alternative and opens the doors for independent writers to get their works seen.

    Just because I own a Kindle doesn’t mean my first edition Travis McGee books will lose their place of honor on the bookshelf any time soon… or ever. Old and new can co-exist.

    C.E. Grundler
    http://www.cegrundler.com
    http://cegrundler.wordpress.com

  22. I don’t take well to change. I didn’t get a CD player until I couldn’t purchase records anymore. I don’t have an iPod and have no plans to get one. I don’t have an “i” anything. I was the last in my peer group to get a computer, the last to be connected to the internet. My cell phone doesn’t do anything except make phone calls, and it doesn’t do that very often because I never turn it on.

    BUT: I just a got Kindle. I LOVE it. I love the ease of buying books, of reading samples before I buy, and the fact that so many e-books are SO much less expensive than regular books.

    And, no, I can’t leave it on my chair at the beach or on a cruise ship and walk away from it like I might a paperback. But I don’t walk away from my purse either, and the Kindle is small enough and light enough to take with me.

  23. Is this the new e-reader that Borders is offering? I forgot about the name of it but it’s super cheap and the cheapest out there for e-readers. Yeah, I can’t deal with an e-reader, digital information can disappear so easily and reading from a screen aggravates me if it’s not my lap top.

  24. Ohh!!! I really want to try to read from a Kindle. Like about everybody above, I do like the feel of the book in my hand, but at the same time, this would make things a lot lighter. Maybe I can find one and try reading from it, it can’t be that bad. Heck, I read from the computer all the time.

    -Danny

    http://superhive.wordpress.com

  25. […] Amazon has introduced a Kindle so cheap even a librarian can afford one, provided said librarian can somehow convince his wife that inexpensive diapers work just as well as  premium ones. Said librarian may also have to make his leaky shoes last another month or two, and may even have to switch to Schlitz, but now that the preferred beer of said librarian's college days is back to its original (and allegedly somewhat drinkable) formula and availa … Read More […]

  26. Oh, anything but a Kindle! Please don’t support proprietary formats for *books* of all things. It’s unconscionable.

    I have experience with both a Sony Reader and an Astak EZ Reader and love them both — and both let me use any format I durn well please.

    I hate, hate, hate how Kindle has become almost synonymous with e-reader. There are better options out there.

  27. I am so old school. I love to pick up a book or newspaper and read it from cover to cover. I just can’t see myself bringing a reader to the beach to read.

  28. I want to get my hands on a kindle to try it out. Sounds nice and convenient, but I don’t think I could stare at the small screen. Especially after staring at dual monitors for 8 hours at work.

  29. I hate papercuts and licking my fingers – I figure technology fixed that and now I never have to worry about that again. Bring on the Kindle

  30. I’ve actually been reading books on my iphone! It’s awesome! Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

  31. With thousands of books between my home and office, I was a Kindle holdout. But I broke down and bought one in June and have found it to be a very nice thing when traveling. I don’t love it, and but I like it a lot, and with the new lower price, it’s something for avid readers to consider.

    David Yamada
    Minding the Workplace blog at http://newworkplace.wordpress.com

  32. Norm
    Are you keeping score about the number of responses to you Kindle, Schlitz, diaper piece versus “bicycle” postings?

  33. This may sound weird…but I just enjoy turning pages and even the smell of a book.

  34. Oh. so interesting. I am really throwing the idea around myself. I love to read and read almost a book a day…can you get books from the library on them? If they are lighter than books, then that would be a selling point, I love to recline when I read…

    evelyngarone.com

  35. Give me paper anyday! Or a free e-reader – as a Lib Tech, I, too, can’t afford one.

  36. I was very tempted to buy the kindle, but I love holding a book, the feel of the pages and the covers are beautiful.

  37. Try before you buy!

  38. I work at BN and I must agree with everyone who loves holding a book in their hands. There’s nothing like the feel and smell of a book! But each time I have to update my knowledge of the nook, I want one more and more…Still, books will always be the preferred choice. I really enjoy your writing! :D

  39. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to buy one these. I suppose it would come in handy if I were to be traveling for an extended amount of time. Other than that, I just prefer the feel and appearance of a real book.

  40. I would rather see e-books being put to practical use like replacing huge, expensive textbooks in public schools. Across this country, mountains of never opened or slightly used textbooks are neatly, or not so neatly, stacked in book rooms and corners of classrooms. TOO much waste. Schools purchase new ones every few years because they are supposed to…not because they need to. E-books are easy to update and would save school divisions money.

  41. These Kindle/ebook comments are cool and all, but why won’t anyone tell me whether Schlitz is any good these days?

  42. Working on a computer all day I don’t know if I can go home and read from another screen although I have so say I haven’t given the Kindle a chance yet.

  43. I’m rather impressed by their latest iteration of the device, and it’s at a price point people can actually afford!

  44. I like Kindle.

  45. That’s still quite expensive for most of us. But, that’s more than helpful to anyone who are not tired reading books…I’ll check more about that…

    Thanks
    job center plus

  46. […] Amazon has introduced a Kindle so cheap even a librarian can afford one, provided said librarian can somehow convince his wife that inexpensive diapers work just as well as  premium ones. Said librarian may also have to make his leaky shoes last another month or two, and may even have to switch to Schlitz, but now that the preferred beer of said librarian's college days is back to its original (and allegedly somewhat drinkable) formula and availa … Read More […]

  47. […] Amazon has introduced a Kindle so cheap even a librarian can afford one, provided said librarian can somehow convince his wife that inexpensive diapers work just as well as  premium ones. Said librarian may also have to make his leaky shoes last another month or two, and may even have to switch to Schlitz, but now that the preferred beer of said librarian's college days is back to its original (and allegedly somewhat drinkable) formula and availa … Read More […]

  48. I have got 1 suggestion for your webpage. It looks like there are a couple of cascading stylesheet troubles when launching a number of web pages in google chrome and safari. It is working okay in internet explorer. Perhaps you can double check this.


Leave a Reply

