“I come from Des Moines. Somebody had to.”

I was going to point out that Treme, the new show from David Simon (who, as you know from my ceaseless flogging, is coming to the Library in June) premieres this Sunday on HBO, but then I realized that my Simon-mania has caused me to be less excited than I should be by another great speaker who is coming to the Library this fall.  Namely, William McGuire “Bill” Bryson, OBE.

He almost killed me one time.  My wife and I were listening to the audio version of  The Life and Times of the Thunderbolt Kid while driving around Pittsburgh a few years ago, and on one especially hairy stretch of traffic-clogged, under-construction interstate a particularly funny bit came on (the Lincoln Logs bit, for those who have read the book) and I was so convulsed with laughter I nearly slammed the car into a nearby Jersey Barrier.  If the crash hadn’t kill me, my wife very likely would have, as she’s very protective of the family Honda.

Here’s a patented Norm De Plume crash course in Why You Should Get Excited about Bill Bryson:

The Official Bill Bryson website

Bryson’s page on the Guardian site

Bryson’s Wikipedia page

The Google Books preview of A Short History of Nearly Everything

A collection of Bill Bryson quotes

Bryson on Google Video

– “Notes From a Large Hadron Collider

Coming soon:  Why You Should Get Excited: Curtis Sittenfeld Edition.

-Norm De Plume

Published in: on April 8, 2010 at 10:45 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cincinnatimercantile.wordpress.com/2010/04/08/i-come-from-des-moines-somebody-had-to/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

