American Parent- Sam Apple

AmericanParent-061609As you may know, my wife and I recently had us a tyke, who was almost immediately and rather hilariously dubbed Dwight De Signeur by my colleague Nemo.  Although I purchased (at my wife’s insistence) a guidebook for expectant fathers almost as soon as we found out she was pregnant, I didn’t read very much of it, having decided that no amount of book learning was going to prepare me for actual fatherhood (although I was traumatized by some useful tips I’d gleaned from other books, including 1. do not hold the baby after spending a good chunk of the afternoon at a seedy bar, and 2. do not get the baby anywhere near a bathtub).

Now that I’ve notched up 6 full weeks of co-parenting, I think I was probably right about the uselessness of book learning in- and only in- this specific circumstance.  Still, had I somehow been able to convince Dwight to stay put for an extra month or two, it probably wouldn’t have hurt, and would probably have been rather amusing, to have read American Parent by Sam Apple.

-Norm De Plume

Published in: on July 6, 2009 at 4:41 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cincinnatimercantile.wordpress.com/2009/07/06/american-parent-sam-apple/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

