Rounded buttons?

Rounded buttons? Rounded buttons? I’m not going to shell out $359 for a Kindle 2.0 just because it has rounded buttons. Okay, I know that’s not the only improved feature, but it’s the only one I could remember when I woke up this morning, so there you go.   Also, I should note that if I had an extra $359 lying around, I probably WOULD shell out for a Kindle 2.0, but I am only marginally more inclined to do so than I was for the 1.0 model.

Stacked commenter, friend of the Library, and general all around great guy delta99 says the main reason these things haven’t caught on is the high price, and I am inclined to agree.  I don’t understand why Amazon doesn’t take the Gillette razor/computer printer route and sell the Kindle for cheap, then rake in the cash as new Kindle owners buy ebooks.  A cheap Kindle might even bring folks into the literary fold who tend not to read now because they (correctly) think that carrying a cumbersome and expensive hardcover book around all the time is a little annoying, thus addressing the #1 reason Steve Jobs doesn’t think ebook readers are going to work.

Eh, I think that’s enough Kindle talk for now.  I’m back on the old timey book beat as of my next post.

-Norm De Plume

Published in: on February 10, 2009 at 5:35 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cincinnatimercantile.wordpress.com/2009/02/10/rounded-buttons/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Norm
    I’m very willing to take a vacation from writing about the Kindle but before I do I think I should disclose that I do own shares in Amazon and I have a blood relative indirectly connected to Amazon. I want our readers to know that I have a pure heart about all things Kindle and have not received fees, commissions or any financial remuneration of any kind from AMZN.
    There, now I feel better.


Leave a Reply

