We still think a “social networking site” is an armchair close to the spitoon

facebook

The Mercantile Library further en-widened its institutional stance on Saturday: while one of our metaphoric feet remains firmly planted in our glorious and storied history, the other has now toed its way to the outer edges of the modern era itself. You see, on Saturday the Library established what can only be described as a commanding presence on Facebook, or, as Jimmy Breslin recently called it, the YouFace.  I will never get tired of referring you to that interview, by the way.

I can’t figure out how to post a link to our Facebook stuff, but if you are already savvy enough to have a Facebook account I’m sure you can find us.

You’ve spent the past few years gaping in bemused astonishment as the three old-timey librarians have struggled to wrap their badly mildewed brains around the concept of blogging. Now, gaze in horrified wonder as we attempt to ascertain not only HOW to work the Facebook thing, but also WHY, WHAT it is that it’s supposed to do, and WHEN it is going to improve our lives in any perceptible way.

-N0rm De Plume

Published in: on December 15, 2008 at 11:16 am  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cincinnatimercantile.wordpress.com/2008/12/15/we-still-think-a-social-networking-site-is-an-armchair-close-to-the-spitoon/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Well now if y’all have a proper spitoon, I may just have to git me a membership.

  2. I have just been informed that what I always thought was the spitoon is actually an urn containing the ashes of our beloved founder.

    I guess that explains all the haunting I’ve been experiencing lately.

  3. I have a co-worker who created the portmanteau “My Face”. However, I’d caution you think about how you ask folks to join you on that site. Under no circumstances should you ask a lady if “You’d like to be on My Face?”. That is, if you don’t mind a couple slaps and a lawsuit.

    Your link, by the by, is http://www.facebook.com/home.php?ref=home#/pages/Cincinnati-OH/The-Mercantile-Library/24092863895?ref=s

  4. I’ll take my chances, thank you very much.

    Thanks for the link.

  5. No problem whatsoever. The more people know, the better.


Leave a Reply

