Joel Levinson: Professional Contest Winner

joel

I had a mild case of blogger’s block today, so I’ve decided to post a non-book related link to a New York Times article about my friend Joel, who is really making a name for himself in his chosen field: contestant.  Please read and discuss.

A year or two ago he entered a contest put on by a major smoothie concern, and was traveling the country dressed as a giant smoothie (which, oddly, was part of the prize for winning).  He made a very brief stop in the Cincinnati area, so I drove out past 275 to say hello.  I just missed him, but the day wasn’t a total wash because I got to have the following conversation with a smoothie franchise employee:

Norm: Say, did you see a guy walking around here dressed like a giant smoothie?
Employee: (shrugs) I don’t know.

I’m still not sure whether he didn’t know if he’d seen a guy walking around dressed like a giant smoothie, or whether he didn’t know if the guy he’d seen walking around was dressed like a smoothie or maybe some other giant chilled drink, like, say, a milkshake.

-Norm De Plume

Published in: on November 14, 2008 at 12:51 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cincinnatimercantile.wordpress.com/2008/11/14/joel-levinson-professional-contest-winner/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What we have here is a failure to communicate. Try not to mumble so.

  2. Sorry. I think the problem is that for once I’m being direct and literal. Joel Levinson, the subject of the New York Times article I linked to in the first sentence, is a friend of mine. For the past few years he’s made his living entering and winning contests. He’s unusually funny and talented, so he’s been pretty successful at it, hence the NYT article and his recent appearance on the Tonight Show.

    Also, I really had that exchange with a smoothie store employee in Blue Ash.

  3. In high school, I will admit to hanging around with a crowd that would oft dressed as DQ Blizzards. We once got into a gang fight with a group of UDF milkshakes.

    And then, of course, there was my brief dalliance with a smart drink but every red blooded American male tends to experiment with that sort of stuff in college.

  4. My mom always warned me that if I wasn’t home by the time the streetlights came on, I’d fall in with the wrong crowd and wind up dressed like an enormous chocolate malted.

  5. Hi Joel,

    Just saw you on Jay Leno!

    Congratulations–and thanks–for not driving.

    Not driving is a very VERY good thing.

    I’m here in Laguna Beach, and founded Auto-Free Orange County in 1996. It a non-profit that favors less car use and more walkable communities.

    Check out our website at http://www.autofree.net

    Love to have you as a member. Any donation you make is tax-deductible.

    Sincerely,

    Jay Laessi
    949/452-1393

  6. We absolutely love your blog and find nearly all of your post’s to be what precisely I’m looking for. Does one offer guest writers to write content for you? I wouldn’t mind creating a post or elaborating on a lot of the subjects you write about here. Again, awesome website!


Leave a Reply

