The Debate Rages On

https://i0.wp.com/www.modernlifeisrubbish.co.uk/images/illustrations/google-as-a-giant-robot.jpgI’m sick of having drinks thrown in my face, so I’m swearing off cocktail parties until the storm blows over.  And don’t pretend you don’t know what I’m talking about: you read the article in the Atlantic: Is Google Making Us Stupid?.  I just can’t stand the thought of being forcefully ejected from one more soiree for suggesting that the whole debate is ridiculous, given that the underlying rhetoric–indeed of most discussions about technology since Alan Turing–have smacked of the pathetic fallacy.  Until some new Mac comes out without an off button, persons concerned that their computer use will render them ADD illiterates can still turn the infernal device off.  That failing, pull the plug.  Given two weeks, I’m confident your “deep reading” ability will return.  Your machine does not have agency.  You do.  You are making you stupid.  I’m going to stay home and let this debate work itself out in that last bastion of true critical thought and intellectual discussion, the comment box.

-Ed Scripsi

Published in: on August 1, 2008 at 12:22 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cincinnatimercantile.wordpress.com/2008/08/01/the-debate-rages-on/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hear, hear.

  2. I hesitate to admit this in public, Scripsi, but I agree with you 100%. I threw that drink in your face on an unrelated matter.

  3. Very well put, Scripsi, and similar to what I said back when the article first came out.

  4. The only bumper sticker I would ever consider putting on my car would read: “What utter, flaky, pusillanimous Luddite hogwash.”

  5. obviously, you are off your rocker. now hold on while i google all those big words in your entry… (hee hee)

  6. Hmmm… you know, that might make a good bumper sticker.

    Mayhaps, I should rename the Bookblog “What utter, flaky, pusillanimous Luddite hogwash”.


Leave a Reply

