Bookflix… er, Netbooxs

I’ve heard it said that it is impossible to throw a rock in downtown Cincinnati without hitting at least one lawyer.  Well, next time I put this supposition to the test, I will be sure to drag the attorney’s unconscious body back to the Mercantile, and once he or she revives, I will use the threat of another, even larger rock to make him or her scratch out a Cease and Desist letter, for it has come to my attention that a bunch of jokers called “Netflix” are ripping off the Mercantile in the worst way, and they must be stopped.

Since the dawn of time (April 17, 1835) or so, the Mercantile has been sending books to our members in the mail with a return envelope, then sending the next book on the reader’s list once we get the previous book back.  Sound familiar?  Yeah, I agree- these Netflix schmoes have some nerve.  Okay, so maybe we do charge late fees, but at a mere 10 cents/day, it’s almost like we don’t.  Plus, since we use a pre-paid postage system rather then a flat monthly fee, you don’t have to spend money from your account if you aren’t getting anything sent to you.  If you keep Netflix’s copy of Petey Wheatstraw: The Devil’s Son-In-Law for over a month without sending it back and getting something new, you still have to pay $20.  Advantage Mercantile.

Well, Netflix may have stolen our idea, but I’m about to steal it back.  I’m going to tell everyone who will listen how much better our books by mail program is then Netflix.  And I’m going to go find a rock.  A nice, aerodynamic rock.

-Norm De Plume

Published in: on July 2, 2008 at 4:31 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cincinnatimercantile.wordpress.com/2008/07/02/bookflix-er-netbooxs/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Actually, we don’t charge late fees for items sent media mail. Yet another reason to take advantage of the Mercantile Library’s fabulous books-by-mail program.

  2. That’s great news, Scripsi. Can you believe there are still people out there who don’t have a books by mail account with us? Scary but true.

  3. I think I may have to start doing this. I so rarely get TO a library, but I usually check my mail. Usually.

    (Ooh! And can you change my blog link to winemedinemecincinnati.com? I’d owe you.)

  4. Done, Julie. No owing required.


Leave a Reply

