Moby Dick Rehearsed

tn_starbuck-ishmael-ahab-heads.jpg

I have always had a strained relationship with the theater.  To me the theater is like the annoying friend of a friend, one for whom I bear no specific ill will but with whom I would be loath to spend an entire hour, let alone two.  Yet, as so often happens with annoying friends of friends, from time to time and for reasons usually far beyond my control, I occasionally do spend the odd hour or two at the theater, which is exactly what happened to me last night.

Luckily, the play I went to see was Orson Welles’s “Moby Dick Rehearsed” at the Aronoff, which seems to be the perfect play for a theater grump with my specific prejudices.  I won’t say I loved every second of it and I’m going to go again (I can’t imagine ever saying that about a play), but I will say that it was very good, and that you should go, as I can only assume you’re less prejudiced against the theater then I am.  Mathematically, you pretty much have to be.

Also, thanks to my belief in presenting both sides of every issue, I plan on posting a link to something exceedingly pro-theater within the next week or so.

 -Norm De Plume

Published in: on March 21, 2008 at 12:08 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cincinnatimercantile.wordpress.com/2008/03/21/moby-dick-rehearsed/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

