Mysteries of the Mercantile

parrot.jpg

Colored chalk on paper. Approx. 8.5×11”. Artist unknown. Mercantile Library Archives.

Don’t tell me this is a depiction of some lesser-known Aesop’s fable gone horrible wrong. I even consulted an artist and he was perplexed. There’s also a chalk drawing of a Robin (stay tuned). -Ed Scripsi

Published in: on March 15, 2008 at 8:26 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cincinnatimercantile.wordpress.com/2008/03/15/mysteries-of-the-mercantile/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. “The Parrot and the Grasshopper”

    There once was a beautiful meadow full of grasshoppers, but there was also a parrot with an insatiable appetite. One day, after having eaten more than his fill of grasshoppers, the parrot spotted one more grasshopper. The parrot swooped down beside the grasshopper, and said “Hello, Grasshopper! I have eaten my fill of your kin, but I cannot resist one more juicy morsel. Say goodbye to this flowery meadow, for today shall be your last!”

    The frightened grasshopper looked from side to side, and listened, and indeed he did not find any evidence of his kin nearby. The grasshopper’s fear was soon replaced by sadness, and then righteous anger. Why should this fat, greedy parrot eat all of the grasshoppers in the meadow?

    “If you eat me, Parrot, you will have eaten the last of my kind. What will you have to eat tomorrow?” asked the grasshopper.

    “I will worry about that tomorrow!” said the parrot.

    “If you spare me my life, Parrot, I will lead you to a bigger meadow, with thousands of my cousins. You will be able to feast and feast!” offered the grasshopper.

    The parrot only thought for a moment. He imagined gorging himself on thousands of juicy grasshoppers, and quickly agreed to bear the grasshopper away to the meadow. “Lead the way” said the bird.

    “But I am tired, Parrot. Perhaps we can assemble a chariot, and you may draw it to the meadow?”

    “Alright, alright!” said the parrot impatiently, still envisioning those juicy grasshoppers.

    Soon, with the grasshopper’s instruction, the parrot had assembled a chariot from scraps of wood and twine found nearby. The grasshopper put the harness tightly around the parrot’s neck, and jumped into the carriage.

    “Now, Parrot, you shall lead me to the big meadow and my cousins, but see how you are ensnared in this harness! You shall not be able to fly and catch any more of my kin! You will pull my carriage until your fat body grows thin and feeble, and you die!”

    And away rode the grasshopper in his carriage.

    The moral of this story? Don’t get harnessed up to a chariot by your principal food source.

    — Sweet Toad’s Fables

  2. We now convene the first annual “Aesop’s Fables Gone Horribly Wrong” contest. And we have a winner.


Leave a Reply

