Michael Chabon- The Yiddish Policeman’s Union

9780007149827.jpgMy father recently praised “The Yiddish Policeman’s Union” by Michael Chabon as “one of the best books I have ever read.”

Unlike everybody else in the universe, he doesn’t usually go in for hyperbole, so I’m guessing there’s something to it. Unfortunately, due to an extraordinary set of circumstances too painful to discuss in this forum, I have a very, very limited amount of time available for reading books of my own choosing. In fact, my time is so limited, even this rare and sterling recommendation from Pops isn’t enough to guarantee a read.

Has anyone out there read this thing? Any advice? I need your help. Know this: I liked “Wonder Boys” * enormously and enjoyed approximately 68% of “The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay.”

-Norm De Plume

*… although I came to this literary party much later then I should have. I didn’t get around to reading it until the early 2000s, and was further delayed by my inability to find an edition that didn’t have Michael Douglas’s face on the cover.

Published in: on August 21, 2007 at 2:31 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cincinnatimercantile.wordpress.com/2007/08/21/michael-chabon-yiddish-policemans-union/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I enjoyed the book immensely, though I typically don’t like cop fiction (with the exception of the Arkady Renko novels by Martin Cruz Smith). In my past I have enjoyed anything written by Isaac Bashevis Singer, and when reading TYPU it seemed that some of those Singer characters- from the schtetls of Eastern Europe – had been transplanted into semi-modern contexts in this novel.


Leave a Reply

