A good story, well told

Now, I’m not one to tell other people what they should be reading. I’m kidding, of course. I love to tell people what they should be reading. That’s why I’m going to tell you, as my colleague Nemo Wolfe did many months ago, that you should be reading “This Human Season” by Louise Dean. I just finished it, and I regret the many months I wasted not reading this book, months I could have spent crying openly like a baby at the sadness and beauty of it all.

“Say, Norm, what ever happened with that Pynchon book?”

Funny you should ask. I finished it a while ago, but I didn’t mention it because I didn’t want to sound boastful. I’m not going to waste your time with a hacky review when there are plenty of hacky reviews of this book floating around. I will say that it reminded me of the time I ordered the Choucroute Garnie at Les Halles in New York. Most of it was okay, some of it was dreadful, but the truly tasty bits almost made it worth working through the giant portion size. Also, both cost around $20.

-Norm DePlume

Published in: on June 14, 2007 at 12:25 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cincinnatimercantile.wordpress.com/2007/06/14/a-good-story-well-told/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

