A few lines of praise followed by a vicious rant

I saw Mark Halperin of ABC News on the Charlie Rose Show a few nights ago, talking about this book, which is coming out in early October. I’m a big fan of Mark Halperin. He’s mind-numbingly astute, and never fails to crack me up at least once every time I see him on TV. I sure hope it gets added to the Library’s collection.

Ahem. Hint, hint.

And now that rant I promised:

Speaking of the Charlie Rose Show, here’s a question for you: Why does our local PBS affiliate insist on running one of the best shows on television at midnight, long after respectable folks have gone to bed? I don’t really consider myself a respectable person, so I usually stay up until 1AM watch it, but I (and by extension our membership, the library, my co-workers, the city in general etc.) usually pay for it the next day. Why not show Charlie Rose at 11PM, and take that abysmal Are You Being Served? show (which currently occupies the coveted 11PM slot) off the air and send it back to whatever dark, dank corner of Television Hell it came from?

I love British comedy (PLEASE don’t tell anyone- I have a reputation to maintain), but that show is unwatchable. In fact, I’d like to create a time machine and use it send a bloodthirsty Austrian-accented Cyborg back in time to take out the mother of whoever created that show. I would rather rub hot gravel in my eyes than watch even a second of that uninspired disaster. In fact (the weak of heart my not wish to read through to the end of this sentence) I’d go so far as to say that Are You Being Served? is almost as bad as American television!! Yes, you read that correctly.

As you can see, I’m somewhat passionate about this. If you agree with me or feel like humoring me, please contact our local PBS affiliate and let them know. I used to contact them on a regular basis about this I’m no longer allowed, thanks to the restraining order.

Stupid restraining order.

-Norm De Plume

Published in: on September 18, 2006 at 5:03 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cincinnatimercantile.wordpress.com/2006/09/18/a-few-lines-of-praise-followed-by-a-vicious-rant/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] of Jennifer Egan (The Keep, etc.), whom Norm spotted pimping her wares on NPR this morning can now check out her “old school avante […]


Leave a Reply

